Wide Open Awareness

Dear Scott, I heard talking about you from Chahna Dumont who let me know about satsang. The first time I met her I realized who I really am. It was so beautifull, peacefull and silent, what a gift! From this day, it is not every day very comfortable because I realise who I am not , my attachments to my body emotions or mental. I feel sometimes a dichotomy between “my ordinary life” and when I am in satsang with a master like Chahna or Eli Jakson Bear or Om Parkins. I still am not peacefull vhen I am sad or angry or when my body is hurting, or when my mental is running into confusion! With Chahna, I am learning to love ALL of me! Nothing to do, just to be who I am !! Simple but not easy! Could you say me something about this feeling of dichotomy ?

It’s simply a matter of relaxing into what you are. You are intimate awareness. You are wide open consciousness. Let all that that implies deeply sink in. Rest in it. Stop pretending to be some story about yourself.

There is no dichotomy. Everything arises, and disappears, in wide open awareness (in you). Joy arises, and disappears, in it. Sorrow arises, and disappears, in it. Anger arises, and disappears, in it. All mental formations, all thoughts, memories, commentaries, and imaginings arise, and disappear, in it. All emotions, feelings, and intentions, arise, and disappear, in it. All circumstances, all sights, sounds, smells, tastes, and perceptions arise, and disappear, in it. All stories about whatever you imagine to be yourself and your body and your life, arise, and disappear, in it. All of these arise, and disappear, in wide open consciousness. All of these arise, and disappear, in you.

Let yourself become more fascinated with this infinite context in which all things arise, which is you, and less fascinated with what arises within it. Meditate on your Self, and your Self alone. Abide in wide open awareness alone. Then when thoughts and feelings and emotions and stories arise, and disappear, in consciousness, in you, it is not a conflict, not a problem. Why? Because stories about yourself no longer make any sense. If there is pain – ouch! If there is pleasure – mmmmm. Either way, smile (if you like). No need to cling or resist or dwell on any of it.

Wide open consciousness. What a miracle! Not a problem anywhere.

-Your own Self-
Leave a Reply

